Gibson Brands Forums

Day Gigs ?

Murph

When I was very young, in Clearwater Florida, there was an active day scene in the downtown area. It was very much a retirement area at the time, and some of the same bands that gigged the night would do day shows to fairly large crowds as I recall.

While some of that was going on in the Phoenix area while I was living there, I don't see it here in the Heartland much, other than festivals, BBQ's and such.

What about your area?

afaik, nursing homes, and assisted living centers is where a lot of this stuff goes on around here. Especially around the holidays.

there's also chamber of commerce functions during the summer, into fall. Actually worked a few of those.

they pay pretty good, but usually outside, so you never can tell what the weather will be the day of the event.

I play two day gigs each week. Started one at a coffeehouse that I've been playing for over 3 years now. It kind of grew. This place was always busy, but the regulars got to where they were expecting me to be there and now I know a lot of them by name, and if someone shows-up with a guitar I let them play a couple tunes. Then last June I started doing an every Friday lunchtime show at a Caribou Coffee. They pay me $25 and feed me, for two hours. After a couple months I turned it into an afternoon "open mic" show. Don't have more than 2-3 pickers come to play, but they make it so I don't have to play two full hours. I imagine a lot of these types of venues would appreciate some kind of afternoon music. Instead of buying coffee and leaving, quite a few people will sit down with their coffee, listen for a while, then buy something else before they leave. It don't hurt to go and talk with manager. The most they can say is "no." And for sure, retirement/nursing/rehab locations can be really good. Most of them are open to providing entertainment.

Still, the evenings and nights are when most of the music is played. There are quite a few festivals also.