Gibson Brands Forums

"Blanche" ....a new tune

dhanners623

Been awhile since I posted anthing; it has been a hectic couple of months. Now living in Manchester UK, maybe permanently.

Anyway, this is a tune I've been kicking around in one form another for a couple of years. It is about Blanche Barrow. Wife of Buck Barrow. Sister-in-law of  Clyde Barrow, as in "Bonnie and Clyde." By all accounts, she was the only member of the Barrow Gang who wasn't a psychopath. She also was the only member of the gang to live to old age, dying at 77 in Dallas in 1988.

There's no indication she ever even held a gun. She was sentenced to 10 years in prison as an accessory, but she was out in five.

I've toyed with this song in first-person, but I'm a guy singing as a woman and it just doesn't work. (Yeah, John Prine pulled it off in "Angel From Montgomery" but a) he was John Prine and b) literally the first words of the song are, "I am an old woman...") This version is in third-person, which I think works.

Figured my J-35 reissue would work well on the tune. Clyde and Bonnie met their end in 1934; two years later, the first J-35s emerged from Kalamazoo.

Edited by dhanners623

1 hour ago, dhanners623 said:

What are the gigging opportunities there for Americana/folk music?

Actual paying gigs are scarce but I live in wine country near Bordeaux and usually get paid with a case of wine which works for me. People seem to like American music. cheers

That was a very good listen. I think the perspective choice you made was a good one.  

I was thinking of the last line repeated, changed for perspective of course, and it only could be sung by a female. Not anything political, but she was a she, and the woe and sorrow would have to be convincing. 

Musically, it sounded like you did something just a little different. No idea what it was. It sounded nice is all I know.

Edited by BoSoxBiker

Thanks, all. I appreciate it.