Gibson Brands Forums

GHS White Bronze?

dhanners623

Anyone tried GHS White Bronze strings? Thoughts? Pluses? Minuses?

Ray Wylie Hubbard is among the people I follow on Facebook. He was musing today about becoming an internet “influencer” so he started name-dropping brands. Said he was heading to the music store to pick up some GHS White Bronze strings. I thought, “Hey, has he just influenced me to try them?” I’ve been using DR Sunbeams on my J-35 but I’ve been looking for something different.

Experiences?

12 hours ago, 62burst said:

That's funny- I thought he might be heading off to pick up some Black Diamond Heavies. 😎. Hope you don't mind- I've no experience with the GHS White Bronze- just mixing in a little Gibson content topical to Ray Wylie and guitar strings:

Never a bad time for RWH, especially when he’s playing an SJ Vintage Sunburst.

As for Black Diamond strings, it’s weird. I wanted to get a set for nostalgia purposes to try on a ‘54 Stella H929 parlor I got this fall, and BDs are darn-hard to come by in the UK. A set of mediums through Amazon costs £24, more than $30 at today’s exchange rate. I’d like to try a set, but I don’t want to try them that bad….

• Haha 1

3 hours ago, jvi said:

good thing a newbie didnt ask this.....

Yeah us experience guys would have jumped on him like a pack of wolves if he wasn't a seasoned member.

Never seen or heard of them. I will maybe give them a try.

https://www.ghsstrings.com/products/11234-white-bronze

Edited by Sgt. Pepper

I’ve heard that GHS manufactures the Masterbuilt 80/20 strings that come with J-45’s and other Gibson models. These strings sound great on my J-45. Does anyone know if the standard GHS Bright Bronze 80/20’s are, in fact, what comes with Gibsons?

13 hours ago, Aggie said: