Gibson Brands Forums

Classical Guitar

ckledzepplin

I've picked a little Bach...

And everything else I do for personal enjoyment is pretty much figuring fingerings for swing, blues and classic rock in a classical sort of style...

It's great fun.

m

I tried it here and there. I'm actually a classically trained pianist who moved heavily into jazz. When I picked up the guitar I had nothing but rock in my eyes. Been trying a lot of blues and a bit a jazz these days on the guitar. But I'll pick up a classical tune here and there for fun.

BTW, listen to Sear play. He's phenomenal...

For 30 years that's all I ever did. When I play electric it's like an entirely new instrument. That's why I pretty much suck. When I sit around the house I am usually playing classical stuff. The rhythms are like dreams.

When "The Purge" took place, very few acoustics remained on the island. One of the few was my Takamine classical. Like KSDaddy, I don't play classical music, but I love the tone and feel of nylon strings. When I'm camping or at the beach, I usually bring a classical along for impromptu jam sessions - especially the beach. You can bust out a Jack Johnson song and watch the ladies swoon.

I took lessons for years, and the techniques - slightly adapted - helped me greatly for what I play now, which is a lot of finger-picking folk music. I maintain that the best classical players are the BEST guitar players, over, done, pack 'em up and go home.

I think it is the ultimate style; because, it is just so damn helpful with so many other styles.

It has helped my electric playing loads!

People talk about 'tone' on electric guitar and the debate of does it come from fingers or amp etc but with Classical guitar it really does come from fingers!!

my favourite pieces at the moment for the Classical Guitar

Nocturnal-Benjamin Britten

El Decameron Negro- leo Brouwer

BWV 997-J.S Bach

Etude 5-Villa Lobos

Matt