Gibson Brands Forums

J-45 Different models, Different Specifications.....????????

onewilyfool

I went out to buy a J-45 and it is confusing I admit-I bought the standard issue MC with the soundhole fishman pickup.

If you are at a certain pricepoint stick to it-fancy spruce top woods,rosewood sides and backs,upscale tuners,it just goes on and on can wind up adding thousands to your purchase price-mine is a standard MC and with case came to about $2100 dollars-I have seen some J-45 as high as $9000-out of my range.Buy the std-your basic 45 that is a beautiful sounding instrument with all the fluff-leave the signature models to the collectors-by the way it is the best sounding acoustic I have ever owned and I have been buying guitars since the 1960s-just go out and find some guitars and play a bunch of them-when you find the one that has the tone and feel you want,buy it! hand assembled acoustic guitars all sound a little different but I found the right one and I now own it-

Don't know what designated a J-45 to be a Modern Classic to be honest - I think nowadays the MC is the 'standard' anyway. So you just have Standard, Standard RW, and TV.

The TV has a lot of features over the standard which make it, a lot of people would say, better. Adi top, hide glue, thinner overall - lighter anyway, I personally like the finish more (inc. banner headstock which is a nice touch). I haven't played 10s or 100s of J-45s but people who have say the TV is worth the extra cash. The shop I got mine from were selling the TV for something like £200 more than the standard, so I snapped it up.