Gibson Brands Forums

Beginner question

Rap

I've been playing an acoustic guitar for a couple of years and lately started wanting to take it electric. So, last week when I saw the Muscian's Friend Stupid Deal for the G-310 and Valve Jr. amp, I decided to make the jump. Now that I've had a couple of days to fool around on the Stupid Deal, I have a stupid question. Is it normal for the pitch to change on an electric guitar just by pushing down (not bending) harder on a given fret? On the lower frets, I'm getting as much as a half step difference just by using more pressure, and even on the high frets I can hear a difference. Since I've never known this to happen on my acoustics, I'm feeling frustrated by the lack of control I seem to have on the electric. I'm wondering whether this is just something I need to get used to, or is there something in the action or intonation I need to adjust on the guitar. Right now, I'm mainly just learning scales, but I can see this becoming a bigger issue as I progress. Thanks to anyone who might be able to help.

Yeah, that's possible, especially if your action is on the high side. You shouldn't need to press as hard on an electric since the strings are smaller. You're probably applying the same pressure that you're used to on your acoustic; you need to lighten it up a little.

I recently re-entered the world of electrics after playing acoustic for many years. One factor is the bigger (taller) frets found on most of today's electrics. So, acoustic-like heavy-handedness must be replaced with a lighter touch. Same thing goes with lighter gauge strings found on most electrics, although you can opt for heavier strings. A common problem area would be that the height at the nut is too high; that would need a precision adjustment.