Gibson Brands Forums

Vintage Guitars a sound investment?

SlagJones

I don't know....If I was in the position to be paying the prices for vintage guitars, I don't think I could get rid of them. I've been playing for 40 years and every time I think of the current market value of some of the guitars I've had and sold/had stolen trough the years, I get depressed. In 72 I was playing a gig on a mountain in West Virginia and had a 56 Strat, 66 firebird and a 60 something ES-175-td stolen.

Interesting story, SlagJones.

Bluesstringer, I would cry if that happened to me! What a crappy thing to happen. Some people are such a-holes.

I think my days of buying vintage guitars are over, barring some sort of monetary windfall. I have a few guitars that are considered vintage, and I've been slowly working on refurbishing them. My '65 Jaguar plays better than ever after I had the frets re-crowned a few years ago. My '64 Gretsch Tennessean is in the shop right now getting some much-needed work done on it (about $350 worth). I have a couple more lined up for some TLC as time and money permit. I don't buy 'em for the investment, I buy 'em to play. When I bought most of them 20-plus years ago, I got some really good deals because they weren't in the best shape. Playable, but with room for improvement. It's worth it for me to spend the money now to repair them, as the cost is still well below their value.

I did have them appraised years ago for insurance purposes, and was pleasantly surprised by their current worth. But regardless of their market value, losing one or all to some natural or other disaster would be like losing part of my family!

Luv them geetars!

Yeah, well if there's a buyer. There's no guarantee that 20 years from now attitudes won't change. 20 years from now the "in" thing might be super high-tech modern guitars, while all the vintage stuff may fall out of fashion and be considered just quaint junk.