Gibson Brands Forums

I am joining the Epiphone club!

Big Arm

Hello, I am a sp ed teacher in Montana working with mainly autistic and behaviorally disturbed children I was lucky enough recently to sell a rather high end mandolin and then purchase a Gibson ES 345. Beautiful guitar, but somewhat spendy to take to a class of autistic children! So I decided I wanted a different guitar for that purpose. I began lurking around here and by doing so I decided Epiphone might be a good idea. Now, realize that I am not dissing Epiphone. I have never owned one, but rather after lurking here, it sounded as if they were very good deals. I was searching ebay for good deals, but yesterday I happened upon a link for guitar center that advertised the Dot Deluxe Flame Top for $299.99! That was cheaper than I could get a used one for, so I decided to go for it. It took an hour or so because the guitar center worker couldn't find the link! He finally contacted his supervisor who said that he had run across that earlier in the day, so they honored the price. I am looking forward to getting this!

Welcome to the club. Yes, we do have a lot of Epiphone fans here, and as you might notice, the Gibson vs. Epiphone debate is a continuous bone of contention. However, I think your reasoning is right on the money. Now that my enormous, clumsy-footed dog is an indoor dog, the expensive guitars stay in their cases and my MIK Epiphones come out of their cases.

I think you'll like the Dot, and will be impressed with its look, feel, and workmanship. I am more of a fan of the Sheraton, but the differences are pretty subtle and cosmetic. I look forward to hearing your comments and seeing pictures of your Dot after it arrives.

If a fight erupts around here, that's just part of being on a forum with a lot of different people proud of their own babies (My Sheraton is an Honor Roll Guitar, etc.). It's pretty easy to stay out of the fray.

JLS

Thanks for the welcome. I am not much of a fighter!