Gibson Brands Forums

Help with identifying a Gibson acoustic

Beavis

Hi there,

I was wondering if anyone could identify this Gibson acoustic I am looking at purchasing.

The seller said the sticker inside the sound hole is missing. so I only this picture to go on before going to try it out tomorrow.

Many thanks

Gibson.jpg

I would start by assuming it is counterfeit.

I'm no expert either but it's unusual. A sort of hybrid of several guitars. And no label! You'll need to provide more, better quality photos for some more info. In particular, headstock front and back, back of the neck, soundhole showing the back bracing, neckblock from inside the soundhole, top, back and both sides.

Does it have its original case?

Inspect it with someone who knows what they are looking at before parting with any money.

Please let us know how you procede with this one.

Cheers

It looks (at least from that one picture) like the neck is probably a real Gibson neck. The counterfeits usually have 3 screws in the headstock while that one only has 2. But the body geometry and appointments look all wrong.

This guitar shows signs of anaemia and severe depression. It needs sunshine, a gentle hand, some hot picking and hours of merciless strumming. It should never sleep in a case, but simply in your bed next to you.

Apart from that I think it's a Gibson okay -

Looks like a Gibby- BUT -

Besides the body shape seeming to be a bit off . . .

The Gibson script on the headstock - the bottom of the "G" extension should be a lot closer to the D string peg.

That case is not for that guitar, and it's not a Gibson case.

Odd that the seller doesn't know what model they have. What's the seller asking price?

From Gibby H'bird Pro webpage-

Features-Neck-n-HdStk-Logo-jpg.aspx?width=300&height=150

Looks like a Gibby- BUT -

Besides the body shape seeming to be a bit off . . .

The Gibson script on the headstock - the bottom of the "G" extension should be a lot closer to the D string peg.