Gibson Brands Forums

Finger pain from playing - and not on my pads

13Guitars

I have been playing for about 15 years - and when I play for extended or intense periods of time my fingers start to hurt due to the skin underneath my nails tearing (between the "pad" and nail.

Anyone else have this pain? Is there a good quick fix?

It happens when I am doing a lot of bends (lots of blues, I'm a frequent bender, double bends, etc)

I've tried putting neosporin under them to help the healing, but it makes little difference, and the old soak in vinegar solution doesn't work for this type of pain.

Any ideas?

Thanks everyone.

How's your technique? Is your thumb on the back of the fretboard? Are you sitting/standing straight? Is the guitar at the right level for you? Are you pressing too hard?

Sounds like this can come from many angles...gotta address em all one by one and see if anything helps...

I know that was all kinda vague but you see what I am getting at right?

The pain doesn't come from pressing the strings down it comes from bending...

When I bend a lot - it pulls the calluses (which are substantial) on my fingers toward my palm and away from my nails - therefore eventually tearing the skin away from my nail, mostly on my ring finger (where most of the strain of the bend is focused).

It happens about once a month or when I am playing a whole lot. Perhaps I am just using too much force on some of my bends....

The pain doesn't come from pressing the strings down it comes from bending...

When I bend a lot - it pulls the calluses (which are substantial) on my fingers toward my palm and away from my nails - therefore eventually tearing the skin away from my nail, mostly on my ring finger (where most of the strain of the bend is focused).

It happens about once a month or when I am playing a whole lot. Perhaps I am just using too much force on some of my bends....