Gibson Brands Forums

Was this buyer scammed?

McBarry

Come to think of it, we hadn't seen a fake 'Suprome' for quite a while.

Thanks for refreshing our memories.

P.

P.S. This should be made a 'Sticky' for those wishing to know exactly what a fake Gibson Supreme looks like.

Hi V, maybe scammed was the wrong word.. buying a fake was what I meant..

I just didn't want to label it as such in case there were rosewood fretboard, frets possibly over bindings, headstock design and other variations I wasn't aware of..

But I certainly am not an expert on the Supreme..

D

Binding not over the frets.

:(

Pretty guitar, though. I still say it's a shame they don't just sell them under their own brand. Seems to be going out of their way to be dishonest.

Hondo made some excellent copies, all sold under the Hondo name, f'rinstance.

/sigh

/shrug

I'm no expert, but I thought the binding was supposed to cover the ends of the frets.

If it was me, I'd pass on it... but not necessarily for that reason alone....

[biggrin]

It would be a comfort to all I think, if a definitive guide to "how to avoid fakes" were to be written by somebody, preferably Gibson. I feel sorry for whoever bought the first guitar for well over $2500. I mean what is it really worth, maybe $600 if that? I know some disreputable sites use other people's eBay shots to promote their wares but a bit of sleuthing can usually expose those. But for most of us, me certainly, I wouldn't know how to tell a really proficient fake from the real thing, especially in vintage guitars. Obviously, if the price stays low (let's watch the one I linked) then it is likely a fake but if prices go high like the first one, there is no clue. The fact is, whether it is desirable or not, people will continue to look for "bargains" and buy outside of the regular dealerships. Surely some sort of protection beyond "buyer beware" could be organised for little effort?