Gibson Brands Forums

Broadway Vs. Emperor Regent

Dr. Queue

I've been playing both Electric and classical guitar for four years or so... closer to five, but the point is that recently I've really gotten into jazz and I can't decide between a Broadway and a Regent (I'm playing on a Fender Jaguar and an Ibanez Artcore AFTDG... blah blah blah). For what it's worth my biggest influences are the immortal Django, and Charlie Christian. Please give me your opinions, thanks.

Both the Broadway and Emperor are Epis ??? Post the same thread on the Epi Electric forum.....They REALLY know their Epis there.......Please tell me what you think about your Ibanez Artcore, as it's on my list for my collection at some future point.......Thank you.....Damian..................

Both the Broadway and Emperor are Epis ??? Post the same thread on the Epi Electric forum.....They REALLY know their Epis there.......Please tell me what you think about your Ibanez Artcore, as it's on my list for my collection at some future point.......Thank you.....Damian..................

Not to hijack the thread, but quickly just squeeze this in here...I've got an Artcore, and I'm on the fence about it. However, I'm not a jazz player, but it's unique to the rest of my collection so I've kept it around.

What I can tell you about it, is:

Not a fan of the bridge pickup when guitar is clean. BUT, the guitar has a killer tone when overdriven.

Middle position, and neck positions are nice. I do enjoy playing both. Nice warm bluesy tones.

I'd say for the money (Actually, I'm not sure what they go for these days), it's a great guitar. Ironic that after I say all this, I'm considering selling mine. Need to thin the herd and it's the least used.

Sorry again for the hijack. I know nothing about the OP topic, and I'd comment if I could.