Gibson Brands Forums

Dumb question - will scotch tape hurt the finish of my LP?

jhanna1701

Hi all,

I'm new to guitar's and trying to learn. I picked up a LP standard plus top. As I'm a visual learning, I was thinking of taping some notes/tabs to the side of my guitar, so that I can see them when I'm looking down at the guitar. Just wondering if scotch tape would have any bad affects on the guitar's finish.

Thanks,

Jamie

I'm new to guitar's and trying to learn. I picked up a LP standard plus top. As I'm a visual learning, I was thinking of taping some notes/tabs to the side of my guitar, so that I can see them when I'm looking down at the guitar. Just wondering if scotch tape would have any bad affects on the guitar's finish.

Welcome to the forums Jamie.

If the guitar is an Epiphone it shouldn't hurt, they have a polyurethane finish that is pretty bullet proof.

If it's a Gibson I would be more careful, they have a nitrocellulouse finish that is much more sensitive to glues, solvents and chemicals.

Welcome to the forums Jamie.

If the guitar is an Epiphone it shouldn't hurt, they have a polyurethane finish that is pretty bullet proof.

If it's a Gibson I would be more careful, they have a nitrocellulouse finish that is much more sensitive to glues, solvents and chemicals.

Yup.

Welcome to the forum Jamie.

There are no dumb questions.

However, if you ever need a dumb answer, I'm at your service.

Willy

The used Squier I bought had a sticker on it that left a permanent mark - slightly dulled the finish. Some slight damage to the side of a guitar wouldn't be of great concern to me, but I'd look into tape with an adhesive that's designed to be removable - you'd be surprised by how many kinds of tape 3M makes. Like this:

http://www.scotchbrand.com/wps/portal/3M/en_US/ScotchBrand/Scotch/Products/ProductCatalog/?PC_7_RJH9U52300LM30I87QR3ES18H7_nid=230P73G691gsTF1RRQ4PQRgl32BW50TV97bl