Gibson Brands Forums

Studio pricing question

Gibson Artist

Ok so im looking at Les Paul Studio prices and i notice a drastic change, how come the faded models are only like 800 and some of the others are like 1300 on mf? Is there better pickups or is the finish on the others harder or more expensive hence the higher tag?

Also, is there any real difference between a studio and a standard in sound quality or is the binding and weight the only real difference? Any information appreciated as this could potentially be my first Gibson purchase.

I know there's plenty of used but if im buying a les paul i want it brand new.

Ps if anyone has bigger pictures of their studios id love to see them. [biggrin]

I'm not an expert, and someone will probably correct me if i'm wrong, but I think the price differences in some of the studio's comes down to things like AAA maple top, gold hardware, inlays on the neck, etc...

As far as I know, the pickups should be the same in all studio models though. Or at least those made during the same time period.

Here's my 2006 Studio "Premium Plus" - bought new at 1400, I think.

P1010185.JPG

P1010192.JPG

Also, I have not spent a lot (or any actually) time with a standard in my hands, but I've read the opinions of many who claim Studio's sound just as good as standards. Only real difference being the aesthetic bells and whistles.

If you're NOT concerned with the cosmetic differences between the studios and standards, then I'd say go for the studio.

A Premium Plus like Evan's is still much cheaper than a standard, and might even be of better quality than some of the more

expensive models.

The faded studios (as well as the faded SG's) are basically the no-frills versions of the higher end guitars.

I've played the faded VM LP and it feels and sounds like a Gibby should. [thumbup]

higher price comes from more materials and labor. the faded obviously does not need as much labor as the