Gibson Brands Forums

Cherry Red '89 Sheraton II

krayneeum

Hi there,

I'm new to the Epiphone family and wanted to drop by and say hello, and hopefully get a few questions answered!

I just got a Cherry Red 1989 Sheraton II, and would like to know what factory is was made in. The serial (9090545) only tells me it was made in Korea in September 1989. Any insight into this? Also, I know Cherry Red is not a common color, so I'm wondering how this one came about.

More importantly, after only a couple months of use one of my saddles has cracked in half (the others are cracking as well). I took it to my local guitar luthier and they didn't have saddles or any bridges that would fit the odd spacing on the bridge posts that Epi used back in the day. I tried searching the interwebs for any useful information, but it seems my only option is to drill new holes to fit a modern tunomatic bridge (as suggested by my luthier). Has anyone else had any luck in finding a bridge that would fit this oddball spacing? Or has anyone tried using graphtech saddles in these older bridges?

I'm dying to play her again, so any help would be much appreciated! Thanks a lot!

-Krayneeum

Here are some pics:

http://imgur.com/a/HC81r

Welcome! Wow, I love that. How nice to see a Sheri in red, I haven't seen one before.

Yes, that looks like a Samick, I don't know if any other factories used that type of bridge. There will be someone here who can give you more information about a replacement.

Well that is a gorgeous guitar [biggrin]

Unfortunately the Sherrys from that era had a bridge that has odd post spacing, the normal Epi post spacing is 74mm from center to center but these sherrys have a 72mm post spacing, Until recently they were available but i can't seem to find any now. some people do clever mods involving home made adapters to enable the a 73mm or 73.5mm Gibby T.O.M to fit.

Edit...double check the post spacing on the bridge just to make sure.