Gibson Brands Forums

Something seems a little peculiar.....

J-200 Koa

i don't know...

I am no expert be a very long shot.. but alot of things look right to me.. the tuners and stamp on back of headstock for one.. case looks like its ok... looks like good workmanship on neck heel ect

i'll prob get shot down.. but I am unsure... I know burst is not very good..and burst on back ?????

i wouldn't buy it though

if this is fake..it is one of the best i have seen here.. I am not sying it is genuine

i do not know enough about Gibsons..or guitars in general..... but some of the details..taking away the burst..and odd looking shape..which I assume is down to photo....are spot on

am i wrong in thinking the back of the headstock and tuners look to be spot on ?

the neck at join at sound hole and back look good to me also.. do Gibson do this type of neck heel on this or any other model?

apart from the burst..what are the main things that shout this is fake?

if this is fake..it is one of the best i have seen here.. I am not sying it is genuine

i do not know enough about Gibsons..or guitars in general..... but some of the details..taking away the burst..and odd looking shape..which I assume is down to photo....are spot on

am i wrong in thinking the back of the headstock and tuners look to be spot on ?

the neck at join at sound hole and back look good to me also.. do Gibson do this type of neck heel on this or any other model?

apart from the burst..what are the main things that shout this is fake?

Because some makers of fakes like to come on forums such as this to build a better fake, it is often bad "karma" to go into detail about what is wrong or right. We don't want to help them.

As an example, there ARE a couple of details that are closer or better executed than in the past. Obviously, gained from info on "how to spot a fake". No doubt about it.