Gibson Brands Forums

Ways to get better balance with an SG?

ExpatGirl

Hi Guys,

I purchased my first Epiphone over the weekend. It's a SG Faded G 400. I bought it because, well, because of Duane Allman and Derek Trucks. I started playing slide a wee while ago and just wasn't happy with the sound and feel of Strat-style double cutaway guitars. I tried out the SG at my local shop. I fell in love with its tone and the ease with which I could get to the upper frets.

After playing the guitar at home over a few days, I love the tone I can get with the SG even more. It just sounds absolutely awesome through an overdriven Blackstar valve amp. I've barely scratched the surface with what I do with with getting gorgeous tones out of my SG.

The problem is with the balance. I can't for the life of me figure out why the strap button is placed at the base of the neck. So do any of you more experienced SG players have any tips? I thought of getting a tech to love the strap button to the upper horn but the guys at my local shop recommended against this. They said it might crack the thin wood on the upper horn. I apologise if this is a question that's asked over and again and I just didn't find the answer. Thanks in advance.

strapbuttons_zpsfec1f543.jpg.......Kidding!!!

ExpatGirl,

Welcome to the forum!

As mentioned, the most common solution is a 3" wide padded strap. the padding gives additional grip.

If you do have Grovers, changing the tuners to something lighter might help. I think it would be minimal.

An SG is simply a top heavy guitar. (nature of the beast)

Also, the holes for the Grovers are 10mm. You would have to take that into consideration.

Best of luck,

Willy

The most popular answer is a wide leather strap with a sueded underside.