Gibson Brands Forums

ProGuitarShop Riff of the Day - Neil Young "Cinnamon Girl"

CoreyT

PS, I am new to alternate tunings, as I have not tried them with my guitar except for using the drop tuning with my Whammy pedal.

I had not heard of a double drop D tuning before, so I guess you just drop the two E strings down a whole step to D.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Double_drop_D_tuning

Andy makes it look so easy playing it, but it will take me awhile to get it.

"Cinnamon Girl" is a fun song to play! We used to play it in a band I was in years ago. Andy's a good player, but he has one habit that gets on my nerves (well, actually it's more of a quibble) - I wish he would quit tapping his leg to keep time. When I played brass instruments in symphonic band (from 6th grade through my 2nd year of college) and the college jazz band, it was a big no-no to tap your foot to keep time (and when I was in the 6th and 7th grade brass bands, the band teacher would chew us out for doing so). Why? It was considered un-professional to do so.

Like I said - just a minor peeve of mine.

YMMV,

Ellen

• 2 weeks later...

Any has done a lot more nice instructional vids, but I have not posted them.

I was driving into work this morning heard Zep's Rock & Roll on Ozzies Boneyard on Sirius, and when I got to work I see Andy has a lesson on the song he put up yesterday, perfect timing :D

Led Zeppelin Rock and Roll Guitar Lesson

• 4 weeks later...

Too cool, Andy is doing a very easy song that I started to play last year.

Sounds very good when using my Whammy pedal to play the original note and an extra one octave lower note at the same time.

The White Stripes - Seven Nation Army Guitar Lesson

• 2 weeks later...

Andy has released a few vids since I last posted to this thread, but I just got the email alert they uploaded Creams White Room.

I can play Sunshine Of Your Love pretty good, but still working on this one.

I dig his playing.

Not an SG like Eric used, but a Les Paul.