Gibson Brands Forums

Why buy a Gibson?

BradM

Hey folks, I'm new to this forum and I'm hoping you all can help me out. I've been playing guitar for about 3 years or so, and play nearly every day. I'm in a band and I also play in church. How good am I? Good enough to have just as much fun as the next guy I guess, but I'm getting better every day.. I hope! I'm currently playing an Atlas series Breedlove dread. The guitar is basically ok but it has a VERY annoying twang to the high E string and a bit also on the high B string. The action is low but I do not believe there is any fret buzz. I upgraded to a bone saddle but the nut is stock. I'm playing D'addario medium phospher bronze. I called a guitar builder here in Michigan and talked to him about the guitar. He gave me some thoughts but I wasn't left with the impression that the annoying twang would be gone after he worked on the guitar. With that said, I am guitar shopping to get a feel for my options. I've thought that if i were to buy another guitar it would be a Taylor, but I swapped guitars with one of the other guys at church Sunday morning (Taylor 300 series). He liked my guitar after a minute of playing but he didn't really pick up on the problem. His Taylor was nice, but I didn't fall in love with it. I played a couple of Gibson's at the local GC and I was impressed. And then Monday I stopped at a very reputable local guitar store and had one of the sales people help me out. He was steering me toward a Martin, and then a Taylor. They sell many used instruments, of which there were a few Gibsons. I asked him about Gibson and he said that they don't sell new Gibsons because "Gibson is kind of a pain in the butt company". I don't know what he meant by that. I want a guitar that plays well and when I strum it, I can hear every string.. if you know what I mean.

So, please tell me.. why should I buy a Gibson? Please help!!

I am assuming you are talking about an Acoustic Gibson with perhaps an PUP.