Gibson Brands Forums

Les Paul Classic tune-up

KVL

Hey gang, my '05 MIK LP Classic needs some love. She's going on 10 and I'm having some electronics issues. I think she needs some new pots and switch. I've done the contact cleaner spray twice on it and she's always cased when not in use, yet she falls out on the bridge setting, scratchy/staticy sounding sometimes, sometimes very thin, etc.

I know everyone seems to recommend the switch craft switch, but what pots should I get, and where to get them?

Keep in mind, I'm a reformed drummer... LOL!

The kits available are easy, but the quality is about the same as what the guitar came with. I always like to upgrade myself when I do these things. Switchcraft jacks and switches are pretty east to come by and are good. Here is a link to some high end pots.

http://www.mojotone.com/guitar-parts/Guitar-Potentiometers

But, before you go there, what tuner cleaner are you using? Some do not really do much. Buy a can of Caig Deoxit and try it first. Even if it does not fix the problem, it is THE contact cleaner for audio. Every musician who plays an electric instrument should have it. It makes your gear sound better. Every serious recording engineer keeps a can around.

http://www.ebay.com/itm/CAIG-Laboratories-DeoxIT-Contact-Cleaner-D5s-6-D5-FREE-SHIPPING-5oz-can-5-/271177132829?pt=US_Pro_Audio_Microphones&hash=item3f236aab1d

God bless, Spamonkis

Can't go wrong with Switchcraft, Neutrik, Bourns or CTS. 500k pots. Audio taper (although different people seem to have different preferences for that). 0.015uF caps seem to suit me; higher values will give you more high cut at full range.

Google Jimmy Page wiring. This can give you a bunch of new tones including coil taps and out of phase sounds. I love it although not everyone does. Normally you'd need 4 wire pickups to do this but, if you can expose the wire connecting screw/slug coils together, you can take an extra lead off of that (one from each pickup).