Gibson Brands Forums

Muting techniques...

daveinspain

I need a little help with my technique.... I'm getting all kinds of unwanted harmonics, drones, rumbles and general sloppiness ringing out from my chords. Can someone please talk a little bit about string muting... I'm getting better at muting unwanted strings from sounding with my left (neck) hand but I'm sure I'm not doing something correctly with my strumming hand. Should I be resting the palm of my hand on the bridge? Any tips on how to clean up my rhythms would be appreciated.

Thanks, Dave

With aggressive strumming, I mute everything slightly with my palm.

A string lightly brushed on accident won't ring.

If my left hand stays in one place, I'll use my fingers where possible.

Of course, I'm far from a pro at this.

My one claim to fame is pretty much what you describe;

All the unwanted harmonics, drones, rumbles and general sloppiness ringing out from my chords.

Dave are you wanting to do palm mutes or just prevent certain strings from making noises?

Probably a little of both... example: I'm playing a pretty ballad and have a real sweet clean tone with a chorus to round out the sound. As I'm doing the chord progression I'm getting lots of crap floating around....

I'm a muting freak but I don't know if I can describe all the nuances that go into it as it depends on what you're going for tone-wise. Mute closer to the bridge and the mute is looser, further away and it's tighter. I also mute and unmute a LOT; I also do what I call a "bouncing mute" where I'm muting the initial attack from the pick but releasing quickly that gives it an effect sort of like delaying the note/chords just a hair but with a swell to it.