Gibson Brands Forums

ES-339 quality control

Sproggie

Hi everyone,

Newbie here and my first post.

I've ordered a fat neck ES-339. Because of where I live it's a mail order and it'll be the first quality guitar I've bought without playing it first.

I'm a bit concerned about old posts I'm finding on the internet about poor quality control and set up. Have these issues been addressed now by Gibson? Why was/is there there a problem here.

I'm really looking forward to getting a great guitar but also getting a little nervous.

I'd be prepared to have it set up by your local luthier. Virtually all of them will settle in differently based upon the original build, humidity in your location, playing style, etc. In general a quality guitar will settle in within a few months and a good set up at that time, which may require fret leveling, crowning & polishing, and it should be good to go for a long time. PAys to be able to do all the basic adjustments yourself.

I got a new Memphis-maded '59 RI 335 last fall that was about as poorly set up as any new Gibson I've ever seen. I'd have sent it back but I thought it showed promise. Fret radii didn't match the fingerboard, bridge problems, bad nut, etc. In the end I replaced the bridge studs with stainless so the thing would stand up straight, fixed the saddle array, replaced the nut, leveled, crowned and polished the frets. Bingo, instant killer player. I can do all that stuff myself, so I was just out a lot of time & effort, but it was worth it.

I did spend quite a bit of time ruminating on the ancestry of the Gibson Quality Control people, but that's another story....

My ES-339 came from Musicians Friend. I paid for 2nd Day Air (UPS) because I wanted it on a Friday, so I could take it to the gig. Musicians Friend screwed around and didn't get it out, and it sat in a warehouse/or a brown truck all weekend and I got it Monday.

Anyhow, I got the extra freight money back and all was well.