Gibson Brands Forums

Fake Epiphone?

Magnus125

Hey.

For some weeks ago I bought a new Epiphone Les Paul standard. I didn't know so much about Epi's then, but now I have searched around and found a conclusion; I think my epi is fake.

I bought the guitar from a guy that imported guitars, from Ebay I guess.

I have written on other forums, but got told that this forum whould answear my questions.

Info:

Serialnumber: EE08026821

Pictures:

http://img123.imageshack.us/my.php?image=14437797qx1.jpg

http://img233.imageshack.us/my.php?image=40376875uz0.jpg

http://img529.imageshack.us/my.php?image=27889532zu2.jpg

http://img233.imageshack.us/my.php?image=72671530pr1.jpg

http://img123.imageshack.us/my.php?image=76112257jk4.jpg

Its kinda hard to see, but there is nothing written on the electronic.

Hello Magnus,

Welcome to the forum.

I am no expert on LPs by any means, but your guitar looks OK to me. In fact, it looks like you have a nice Les Paul on your hands there.

Many people on this forum are much better qualified than I to answer your question...but generally, it seems that the fake Epis can often be detected by a bulky plastic nut, cut very deep.

Here is a photo of a (definitely genuine) Epiphone Les Paul headstock, taken from the U.S. Sweetwater site:

08091503764-headstock-l.jpg

And here is yours, from the link you posted above:

27889532zu2.jpg

It's hard to tell for certain, owing to the angle at which the photographs were taken.

Some people might take issue with the angle of the Epiphone logo also. But it is really hard to tell...

Anyway, good luck...I really hope that it isn't a fake.

Its kinda hard to see' date=' but there is nothing written on the electronic.[/quote']

That would be suspicious. I just bought an EE as well. Besides the lettering on the pots, mine has brown caps and no bridge-grounding-wire.

I couldn't make it out from looking at the pic, but the metal outputplate as opposed to a plastic one would be incorrect as well.