Gibson Brands Forums

Greetings from AusTex

Scrap_Iron

Howdy! I'm a steel guitarist in Austin, Texas, and happy to join this forum. I also play guitar and slide, and just received a Epiphone Limted Edition 1966 G-400 Silverburst SG from the online store.

Granted, this was an impulse buy, but it turned out well. The fit and finish are nice, the electronics all work smoothly, the body and neck transmit lively vibrations. I tuned it up right out of the box and thrashed it around awhile.

The next day, I put on some new strings and tweaked the intonation just a bit. Good straight neck, the action might come down a little. No buzz or dead spots as it is now. The tuners hold well.

I've only played the guitar at practice volumes, so I haven't explored all of the pickups strengths/weaknesses. Sound is full on the bottom, and smooth mids at these volumes.

I got this because of the set neck and mahagony body, and hoped that a "special edition" would reflect a little added attention. I'm pleased overall with this guitar for the price.

Like I said, I'm primarily a pedal steel guitarist, but I also play guitar and have 35 years experience. This little Epiphone is my first Epi, and I am happy to join the club. I hope I can contribute a little to this forum.

565038.jpg

S.I.

Howdy and welcome.

I always wanted to learn steel guitar. Just never got around to it. Anyway, diversity is a good thing.

Congrats on the new guitar.

Have fun and don't be a stranger. Lots of good people and information. All contributions are cheerfully accepted.

Just watch out for the occasional flying shoes. (they don't always hit who they were intended for)

bush-flying-shoe.gif

Wow, y'all, thanks for the welcome!

Yep, that was the picture from the ad (hey, I was trying to avoid that 'neener-neener'). But it would look just like that (on a couch) if I would take a photo. Instead, here's a picture of me at my main ax, a Williams D-10 8&5.

bobby_snell.jpg