Gibson Brands Forums

A Death In The Family

Sjael

[YOUTUBE]

[/YOUTUBE]

Today, in a tragic turn of events, my Les Paul Prophecy EX met it's untimely end.

For whatever reason, it fell from it's stand, face-first onto the floor. The neck is broken clean through under the second fret. It's not a break I'm willing to repair myself, and it's not something I can afford to get repaired right now. Being a semi-working musician I can't exactly operate one guitar down for too long either. Looks like this one's gonna be an insurance claim unfortunately. :^o

The best part is I've just more or less dismantled my Explorer to replace all the hardware with chrome stuff, so I'm now down to the Strat (which honestly, I don't like) and the acoustic. And I'm a metal guitarist! :-&

I never connected with this guitar like I did with the Explorer, but it's still profoundly saddening to see it die so needlessly, just over a year after I bought it.

Just needed a place to say this where people would understand what it's like. None of my available friends right now are musicians, so they can't understand how I feel right now.

I was always keen on a midnight Les Paul Ultra-II (I do a lot of acousticky tones too,) but they hadn't arrived in New Zealand when I was looking so I settled on the prophecy. I might end up with one of those. They look like sex and would be much better for jumping about on stage with!

~ Mike

Sj..............I'm sooooo sorry to hear that !

And as usual, the timing totally SUX too.................

Well, maybe it won't take too awfully long to get the Explorer back together, and until you do...........

Flip the 5-way to the neck p'up, and let that Strat wail !

I understand your loss and grieve for you.

But in all honesty to me, stands are meant just for temporary holding of the guitar, like at a gig or pratcice

not for it to stay there overnight and days into weeks.

I always put my guitar back in the case when I won't be using it anymore that day.