Gibson Brands Forums

I have a bone to pick with Gibson design team

guitarhead

Hello guys, this is a lengthy one, yet a good one.

First off, I would like to humbly disclose, that I do have an eye for a beauty and desing, I studied Interior architecture and furniture design.

1- The Standard Traditional Desert front is stunning, yet Gibson found a way to screw it up with that ugly solid brown back that shows 0 wood grain and 0 character. The person who decided that should be, dare I say, fired.

2. The chambering of these guitars is a pathetic excuse to make Les Pauls lighter, what made a Les Paul what it is, is the massive weight with massive neck, hence the massive tone.

3. This one might draw controversy, yet I will post it, this one relates to the chambering and weight relieve. I emailed Gibson design 4 years back, suggesting instead of the Swiss cheese holes and the chambering, design a Les Paul with rib-cage contour and an Arm Rest contour. This would result in a double win design, on one hand Les Paul will evolve to a very comfortable instrument, and on the other some wood would be accordingly shaved off the guitar hence compensating to the swiss cheese holes etc. the arm-rest does not have to be on all models, but I think they should make one, and I know it will be a big hit. I keep getting these marks on my forearm from the sharp edge, especially when I practice/play for a while. Now with the Alex Lifson, they did the rig-cage contour and the neck-heel, but not the arm rest, also the first Gibson with an arm rest as far as I know is the Firebird X limited. I would like to see it on some LPs

4. The affordable Studio Mahogany and faded cherry, I am sure design team did not say, let's make them as ugly as we can, no offence guys I have one myself until I found the one you see in the sig. but come on why screw up a nice wood grain with solid brown and solid cherry.

You may reply and just state to which item you are commenting on 1, 2, 3 or 4