Gibson Brands Forums

Now a Jackson Browne Owner

junglejem

Greetings Folks

I just acquired a left hand Jackson Browne Model 1 (would have preferred the electronics, but lefties cannot be too selective!). I have been playing for 40+ years, and have been seriously buying/selling/trading guitars for the past 8-9 years. I can honestly say, this is the pinnacle for me. Better than I even expected, and I expected a lot, especially for the price. The deeper body and 1.8" nut are no problem...the guitar melts in my hands. Extremely comfortable. The neck is wonderful. Tonally it might fall somewhere between mahogany and rosewood. Definitely more overtones than mahogany. The guitar has a huge voice, presumably due to the extra depth of the body. Great balance throughout the neck. I gave up a J-200 and a Martin HD28v to acquire this guitar, and I don't regret it. This is now the only acoustic guitar I own, and the only acoustic guitar I need.

That being said, the case is quite cheesy, a huge disappointment. Very light weight, can't be a wood frame. More like an old chip-board case with a velour interior. The neck doesn't even rest on the cradle over the case pocket, and the interior is probably 6 inches longer than the guitar. I'm amazed Gibson would put such a classy (and pricey) instrument in such a low-budget case.

Maybe someone can help on this forum....how can I tell how many Jackson Browne models have been/will be built in left-hand configuration? I have to believe this is going to end up being somewhat exclusive.

I just purchased a HD-28V and slowly get closer to it these days. Know it enough to ask you how your J.B. compares to that Martin model.