Gibson Brands Forums

Crack in epiphone.

sm.kralik

First off I'd like to say that I'm new to guitar so forgive me for not knowing all the technical terms for it. I've had my new Les paul custom pro for about 2 months, I love it to death but one day when the jack input on the guitar became loose and the nut fell off making the jack fall a bit inside the hollowed out portion. I then removed all 4 screws on the "jack cover" I noticed that one screw hole was extremely close to the end of the wood. Sure enough I saw that the screw had been resting only about 1/8" in the hole and the rest of the screw had been pointing inboard. Additionally, it split the wood causing a 1/4" crack in the wood. I'm waiting for a response from epiphone but do you feel it is worth a repair or should I see if I can get it replaced? I plan on keeping this guitar for a really long time...

Thanks for the help,

Steve

Can you post a photo? The crack may have no effect on the guitar other than the screw being loose, and it could be easy to fix. On the other hand, it could be in a position where it might have other effects too.

To me, that's a manufacturing defact that I couldn't live with and would send it back as a dud if it's under warranty. Is it new. If less than a week old and purchased over the web in the UK we can send back to the retailer with no obligation, or maybe the retailer has a no quibble return policy. If not it's a warranty job but, in either case, we (as customers) should never put up with shoddy workmanship. [-X

I agree it's a manufacturing defect and you should probably be able to get a replacement.

I myself would fill the hole with a toothpick and wood glue, then redrill it, rather than go through the hassle of returning the guitar and taking the chance of getting one with different issues, or one that I just didn't like as much. That repaired hole will not affect tone or playability, or be visible.