Gibson Brands Forums

Alpine white Les Paul Custom. Real or a fake ?

pm74

I'm no expert but.....

I say it is a TOTAL fake. The headstock looks very wrong - almost laughably so - and there's more too.

And if the seller only wants £600 then he/she must know very well it's a fake.

Do not buy it.

By that serial number, the guitar (if genuine) would have been made at the Gibson factory in Nashville Tennessee on July 19th, 2005. Production number 260.

The details on that guitar are technically right, from studying all the details in the Blue Book, but something does look hinky about it.

Just hard to put your finger on.

An Alpine White Gibson Les Paul Custom was produced in 2005, there's no doubt about that.

And if real, it would be worth right now:

Mint condition: 1,800 £

Excellent plus condition: 1,450 £

Excellent condition: 1,200 £

Very Good + condition: 975 £

Can you pick it up and play in person?

Will they let you plug it in and try it thru a few different amplifiers.

A Chibson, as FZ reports (a Chinese-made copy) is often pretty close to the real thing, but the wood and the pickups are cheap.

The small metal screws which hold the pick guard and cover plates on are characteristically cheap, and they strip easily.

The fake will have some rough details inevitably, usually near the edge binding, neck/fingerboard binding, and the cavities where the pickups go in.

The pickups usually sound weak and flat compared to the real thing.

The shielding will also be poor, so you will hear a hum or buzz as you turn your body (with the guitar strapped on) gently left and right.

Check it out!

Guest Farnsbarns

By that serial number, the guitar (if genuine) would have been made at the Gibson factory in Nashville Tennessee on July 19th, 2005. Production number 260.

The details on that guitar are technically right, from studying all the details in the Blue Book, but something does look hinky about it.