Gibson Brands Forums

Ambitions and regrets?

Lars68

• Replies 75
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Piano lays all of what is called "theory" right in your lap. It makes it crystal clear, it is a linear in thought and in physicality. Guitar is kinda all over the place and repetitive in not good ways compared to keys. Keys will quickly make you a much faster thinker musically. It will show you that even as you tell yourself and others that you are self-taught, don't know theory, and don't need to know it, you actually do know a lot of it, you just didn't know you did. Piano helps put it all together and is easily applied to other instruments. The guitar, not so much without lots of pushing.

rct

eeeeexxxxzackery...

I started in 2005, and I went all in. There were days on end when I didn't touch a guitar. I was practicing 2+ hours a day... I became a bit obsessed..

now, some12 years later, I can pretty much make anyone think I'm a reasonably capable piano player -- !!!ha!!! !!!SUCKERS!!!

seriously there is a reason why some of the best players started when they were under the age of 10. a very hard instrument to fully master.

Piano lays all of what is called "theory" right in your lap. It makes it crystal clear, it is a linear in thought and in physicality. Guitar is kinda all over the place and repetitive in not good ways compared to keys. Keys will quickly make you a much faster thinker musically. It will show you that even as you tell yourself and others that you are self-taught, don't know theory, and don't need to know it, you actually do know a lot of it, you just didn't know you did. Piano helps put it all together and is easily applied to other instruments. The guitar, not so much without lots of pushing.

rct

Makes sense to me because I have always heard that if you can play piano you can play pretty much anything.

I regret giving up guitar and jamming in general, etc for nearly twenty years. I could have found the balance.