Gibson Brands Forums

Resonators

JAddison

I decided to leave my all hog in Open G tuning and have started learning to play slide and loving it..

I have seen a few clips on you tube and it seems alot of people use resonators.

I have no knowledge on them, I am wondering what you guys think of them and if you think it is worth buying one just for slide?

I decided to leave my all hog in Open G tuning and have started learning to play slide and loving it.I have seen a few clips on you tube and it seems alot of people use resonators.I have no knowledge on them, I am wondering what you guys think of them and if you think it is worth buying one just for slide?

Here is a linkto a clip of Tomb Feldmann, a fine slide player, explaining the nuances between wood and sheet metal [click on theVideo Sample tab to view). There was a long discussion about this on Stefan Grossman's Woodshed forum, also with alink to the video on p6 of the thread.

Quick take. Its not essential for slide, but they do have a Tone. I play a National Vintage Steel and like it. A lot. Note that most of the old guys played wood, some 12-string; Son House and Bukka White only went metal in the 60s. Bo Carter and Blind Boy Fuller, oth, played Nationals form the get-go. Two of my favorite contemporary reso guys are Paul Rishell & Steve James.

If you go shopping, my advice would be to save up for a National. Some of the Pac-Rim jobs are ok but most have inferior cones and hardware. Your hog will sound better for slide if you set it up with a medium string set, maybe put a 14 on the hight E (ps the mid-rangey nature of an all-hog makes it good for slide work). Hope that helps. Rambler

I have played a National Duolians for years - not only with a bottleneck but just normal finger style in open and standard tuning. They are a brash and in your face guitar. Very quick note decay.