Gibson Brands Forums

How much is a gibson worth

LesPaul7545

Hard to say as we would have no idea what they are paying for pickups and wood etc and what sort of discount they get on bulk orders...

But id say about £300-£400 ish probably less (may be as low as £200)... and depending on the model

BUT its not the materials we pay for its the labour... and in Gibsons case its history as being one of the oldest guitar companies there is.

This is well worth a watch if you haven't seen it.. I myself have been building guitars and even though im still learning I think it will take me at least a week to make a guitar even if I had all of the proper tools and knowledge. And that's just to make it.. then you have to spray it which has a curing time of three weeks.

Hi,

I was wondering, do any of you know how much a gibson is worth without the brand, shop and distributor taking profet out of it?

So my question is, how much is a gibson worth in "parts" ???

I would guess gibsons have a total mark-up of 30-50% after gibson, dealers, distributers, wholesalers etc get their piece. So do the math. [thumbup]

Guest Farnsbarns

I would guess gibsons have a total mark-up of 30-50% after gibson, dealers, distributers, wholesalers etc get their piece. So do the math. [thumbup]

On USA models I would think that Gibson would be looking for 50% on top of what they put in, I think the dealer probably adds another 50%. Gibson isn't using any distributers, wholesalers or importers in the USA or Europe, they deal directly with dealers.

Hi,

I was wondering, do any of you know how much a gibson is worth without the brand, shop and distributor taking profet out of it?

Without the brand it's not a Gibson.

I think yer all bein baited.

Hi,

I think the profit will be similar to cars, smartphones or refrigerators on principal. The economical differences between these products and mass produced musical instruments are not that big I believe.

Hi,