Gibson Brands Forums

Over-rehearsing

Izzy

I have been playing guitar for a few years now, just me alone, and practice on my own a few times a week but when I have a show coming I play the every day, which never game me trouble but....

I have a drummer now...she is learning how to drum but does pretty well...we live together so we have been re-hearsing daily though we don't have any shows booked yet or any open mics lined up yet.

I find myself messing up songs that I am VERY familiar with and my voice is sore (my new job is telephonic nursing, which is a problem too).

Would it be better to take a day off every other day or to maybe rehearse half the set one day and the other half the next? Is a bigger break between rehearsals in order?

I call it the 'force effect'. When I play or rehearse a song if I am not relaxed, semi rested and in a decent mood, I tend to force the song and playing it becomes unsatisfying. I tend to take frequent breaks. Music and playing the guitar certainly have to be 'worked' at. But when the fun or satisfaction is not there it can become drudgery.

Why not have her teach you drums, and you teach her guitar to mix it up now and then. But if you are straining your voice that is for sure a time to rest the vocal chords.

While I may not practice the same stuff, or even the same instruments every day, I do find that it's important to practice every day.

Back in the old days when I was doing 2 a nights for 3 or more months in a row on the road, there was nothing that deflated a gig as much as a night off. It always took a long time for the band to get back in the groove with a night off.

We would even look for places to jam on nights off just so we could keep our consistency.

Now all these years later, I still find that by practicing at least some each day I never feel rusty, and most times I pick up the guitar fresh, it actually feels like the continuation of the previous day's practice.