Gibson Brands Forums

Power Of The Mind!

Digger

I am prompted to write this by a discussion on the Epi forum and thought it might provoke discussion here too.

I have been meditating since I was 16 years old and over these years have understood the incredible power that our minds hold. One example of this, is how it is possible to set your mind as an "alarm clock".

I have been known to sneak the odd "Nanna Nap" after lunch most days, and at times slept longer than desirable, and then wake up feeling stunned.

To avoid that I developed a technique which allowed me to "set" my mind and wake up when I wanted to, almost to the minute! This is how I do it!

Firstly I visualise an analogue clock dial and imagine moving the hour and minute hands to the time I want to wake up. I do that two or three times to reenforce it and then also visualise the wake-up time in digital form. I tell myself that I'm going straight to sleep and am going to wake up refreshed at that time. I'd say I have a 90% success rate using that technique.

Sleeps over say 20 minutes mean you enter the deeper REM state and waking from them can leave you listless especially if you wake suddenly.

Now this isn't necessarily working because of my past experience with meditation, as my wife has learned to do it too.

Give it a try!

Yeah man. I started meditating about 3 years ago. I was having all kinds of trouble. I was diagnosed with a digenative heart condition and the Dr. told me to either change my alcohol consumption habits or make my final arrangements. I left the hospital after 13 days and really wanted to stick around for my son's sake more than anything.