Gibson Brands Forums

TAKING Care on my new j45 standard as a truck driver?

Asphaltcowboy

Hello I bought a really nice Gibson j45 cutaway standard. I bought these humidity packs one goes up in front of case and the other goes between the strings. I bought a polish kit. I’m a trucker long haul. Temps and humidity is constantly changing for me. I want to take care of this beautiful guitar. Is leaving it in the case with the humidity packs good enough and polishing it every few days? I’m just starting out playing guitar. I have the case itself strapped into a net in my truck so it won’t go flying anywhere but it still gets really bumpy. What else should I do to ensure the sound and quality of this Gibson stays at its best thanks.

Being exposed to varying conditions, your humidipaks may only last a few months but in my opinion they’re well worth it. You can buy them in bulk packages. I would not be polishing it that often. Just wipe it off after using it. I sometimes polish my guitars every few years. Normal areas to wipe down are the strings, fretboard and where your forearm rests.  If the case is going to get shook up a lot, I would pack some extra cotton cloth beneath the headstock for extra support. 

Enjoy it and welcome to forum. 

• Like 1

Always willing to help somebody else spend their money....

The humidity packs are a good idea, but be aware that over-humidifying a guitar can be just as bad as not humidifying it properly. (Don't ask me how I know....) Were I you, I'd invest in a digital thermometer/hygrometer combo -- they're not too expensive -- and that way you'll always have a handle on temperature and humidity.