Gibson Brands Forums

How do you write songs?

Basshole

I'm a writer.

They come to me in different ways.

Like one day I saw a sign at a trailer park. It read, "Luxury living with a heated pool".

That turned into a song.

It's easy.

Wild

Cherry lips

shinny painted finger tips

luxury living with a heated pool

penthouse playmate's life is cool

this has been copy writed so no stealing.

My songs usually start out as letters i never intend to send. Most of my songs are consequently about love, or lack there of, which also means consequently they are often about what I've done wrong. I spend quite a bit of time just goofing around, not playing songs, just playing chords in random. When the right chords come out that creates a certain feeling... I dig out the letter notebook and find the right letter. I also rip people off a lot, I'll play some gnr or metallica and just plug in my own words, then adjust the rhythm of those, and throw in a minor here or there to set that depressed mood. It seems most of my songs end up with a lot of a d and e minor, even when they start out as being g-d-c.

The few times that I've ever been able to write anything decent (and that's a relative term) is when it's just come to me without much effort. Amost spontaniously. The way my mind works, I'm always finding connections and comparisons between different lyrics, melodies, subject matter etc. When I try to come up with a melody or lyrics, it seems like I always end up subconsciously copying something else, or try trying so hard NOT to copy something else that I can't come up with anything.

Plus, the way I see it, there's so much great stuff allready written or still being written by professionals that nothing I could come up with would hold a candle to it.

If I have a talent, it's in imrovising and adding some original parts to an existing idea.

I mostly write instrumental guitar music.