Gibson Brands Forums

I need help identifying my old Gibson

Hou

Hi everyone! My name is Houston and I am new to this site. I have an old Gibson that was passed down to me from my grandma. It was given to her when she was a child so it must be about 60 -70 years old. I have been playing it for a few years and am just now looking in to its background. Can any one tell me anything about the year it was manufactured or the model. The number on the back of the headstock is 305155.

IMG_1524.jpg

IMG_1525.jpg

IMG_1526.jpg

IMG_1527.jpg

Edited by Hou
  • Like 1

It is a Gibson  LG-0 model.  An all mahogany guitar.  It is in the LG series that included the Gibson  LG-0, the LG-1, the LG-2 and the LG-3.   All of the models were considered student guitars when the were originally out.  The LG-0 was the lowest price one in the line with its all mahogany body and ladder bracing.  The. LG-1 was the next step up one with a solid spruce top, sunburst finish, and mahog sides.  It too was ladder braced.  The LG-2 and LG-3 were X braced which produced a fuller sound and was the more popular bracing.  The LG-2 was spruce topped in sunburst, the LG-3 was natural finish with a solid spruce top and X bracing.   There is little demand for the LG-0 in the collector market with it having been the lower line model and all mahogany  with ladder.   The LG—2 and 3 models have a much higher demand in the collector market.   Someone on this forum should be able to decode the serial number and offer more info such as its year. 

QM aka “Jazzman” Jeff

• Thanks 1

7 hours ago, QuestionMark said: