Gibson Brands Forums

What should my next Acoustic Guitar be?

Larsongs

I have a 1975 Martin D-35 that my girlfriend, now my wife, bought me new. I have a Bozeman Masterbilt J-160E I bought in 2002. Both are fantastic Guitars but are getting older. I don’t want to take them to Gigs that much anymore. OK for Studio & Recording.

I’ve given up my quest for a great USA built Acoustic under $2000.00. (If you remember the Thread I posted a year or so ago).

I don’t want to spend crazy money for a Guitar that I will play out with & use in the Studio. But, I want it to be a really great Guitar. USA built preferred. I love Rosewood & I love Mahogany Guitars. Although, I’m leaning toward Rosewood. I love Dreadnought Guitars. I’d like it to be an Acoustic Electric with excellent Electronics that sound great.

In the past year I’ve had a Martin HD28E & a Guild D40E. Both great Guitars but I didn’t bond with either. I don’t know why?

I want a popular model that won’t be hard to sell if I should want to sell it down the road to get something else.

What would you recommend?

Thanks

Edited by Larsongs

2 minutes ago, Larsongs said:

These have been on my radar for a while now. Very nice.

They are beautiful. My first "real" acoustic was an '80 D-55 that I got, used, from a small mom and pop store. I think I payed $400 for it around 1987. It had to be the best sounding guitar I've ever owned. When it needed a refret, I traded in toward a new '94 J-45. Worst trade ever. I currently own (I believe) a 2008. It's sweet, but I still miss the'80.

7 hours ago, gearbasher said:

They are beautiful. My first "real" acoustic was an '80 D-55 that I got, used, from a small mom and pop store. I think I payed $400 for it around 1987. It had to be the best sounding guitar I've ever owned. When it needed a refret, I traded in toward a new '94 J-45. Worst trade ever. I currently own (I believe) a 2008. It's sweet, but I still miss the'80.

They cost 10 times that now!