Gibson Brands Forums

I can't believe it.

DAS44

It is not a gimmick =D>

I resent that as I am a working musician and it is actually very useful, although I must confess as it is so new, I do worry about the grief if it breaks, and getting it fixed.

But regarding the original Robot I own and use- It stays in tune for days (maybe the locking tuners working their magic?), it sustains for an equal amount of days =P~ , it plays like a dream, has an ebony fret board and just feels great. And on top of that it tunes itself, changes tunings (within 20 seconds) and it assists you keeping the intonation in check.

Sadly it is an instrument that just evokes lots of spite. I wonder how many people who slag it's tuning off CAN actually tune themselves accurately? I doubt that many...

As with the clip of the young Brazilian guitarist posted by Axe, I wonder if the tuning accuracy, like the young mans formidable technique, intimidate people to the point of criticism.

Matt

Yeah' date=' cool until it breaks. Gimmick, but impressive. I would rather spend my money on a regular LP any day.[/quote']

Yep, one of my friends who has a LP robot Studio, his broke and now he can't fix it, and nowhere here can either.

I'm with Sear... I have one and it's one of my best all around guitars by a long shot... I've had it close to two years now already, no break downs... Tuning works great!! I don't know about the Robots after the first run bots but if you are lucky enough to have the ebony fret board you have yourself one sweet guitar that shines even if it didn't tune itself...

I've only had mine for a month or so, but I really like it. Whenever I use alternate tunings on my other guitars, it seems like they are constantly needing retuned....like after every song. This one doesn't. It isn't that I can not tune my guitar, rather, I get to spent the time playing it, and experimenting with other tunings that I most likely would never get around to messing with.