Gibson Brands Forums

Gibson Newbie

Dom_JEM

just a quick post....

ok, im new to Gibson guitars... im usually an ibanez kind of guy...

im planning on buying a gibson SG standard (09') in the next couple of days and a need a gibson "expert" opinion...

here goes, when reading info on websites regarding the guitar all i read are good things and very little bad things...

so what are the bad points about the gibson SG standard? where it be sound, hardware etc

thanks

I had a standard & did not like the sound--poor balance between the notes, some cut through,some didn't.IMHO. But I play clean--country,blues, old R&R,with just a touch of overdrive. Not one of those heavy distortion metal guys. Swapped it for an '04 '61 RI;much better sound,prolly 'cause the pickups are mounted directly in the wood instead of suspended in a plastic pickguard. If you can pony up the extra kablingy, I'd go for the '61. Seems to everyones favorite,too.

One bad point is you don't own one yet. Go for it

haha true

i mostly want a guitar for blues... the really dirty kind[biggrin] my style is between roy buchannan/gary moore/ angus young (if u can imagine that [biggrin] ) so i want something you can really attack and get an aggresive sound....and with plenty of sustain...

ive tried a few strats but they seemed a little "thin" [confused]

you can find a nicely balanced one' date=' if you're patient and do some testing, in various stores.

CB[/quote']

thats another problem..... im from the UK and we only have around 5-6 gibson dealers.... all around 100 miles away from me.

when i get 1 im afraid t will be off the dreaded internet[crying]