Gibson Brands Forums

Looking for the "Grail"?

freak show

OK, I'll precedent this by saying I'm fairly new to the world of Internet forums in general and guitar forums in particular, but one thing I have already noticed in my short acquaintance is a tendency to constantly be looking for the next, a better, the perfect guitar; the guitar that is going to change everything; the so-called "Holy Grail".

I love guitars, and I have more than I need (and deserve). I too spend time looking for new acquisitions which would probably be better spent actually playing my old guitars. I think some of you can probably relate.

My question: Do we do this because we're on a "tone quest"? Do we really expect the next guitar to be such a radical improvement over the ones we already own? Is this about sound, or are we just "shopping"?

I sometimes have the sneaking suspicion that I'm worse about guitars than my girlfriend is about buying shoes...

[biggrin]

The 1st step is admitting you have a problem. BUT that depends how one defines "problem." One way Webster defines problem is a source of perplexity, distress, or vexation. Does a slight guitar obsession cause us distress? No. It makes us quite happy. Do we have a difficulty in understanding or accepting the fact that we love guitars? No.

So the next time someone tells you you have a guitar "problem," simply reply "Guitars do not cause me distress and I do not have difficulty understanding them but thanks for your concern."

Or say this:

"It's not me that's addicted to guitars. It's guitars that are addicted to me."

Case in point, there is nothing wrong with you, Mr. F Show.

Yep, I can totally relate to what you're saying man.

Once James Hetfield was asked by a reporter if he has a drinking problem. His answer was: ''Hell yes, I do have a drinking problem! I have 2 hands but only one mouth!'' [blink]