Gibson Brands Forums

epiphone vs gibson?

Naradien

Hey guys. I'm new to gibson and les pauls, so could anyone tell me the difference between the epiphone and gibson les pauls. I've been looking for some good ones, my budget is like $1000. I've been looking at the Gibson les paul menace, and the Epiphone Prophecy Les Paul Custom EX Electric Guitar with EMG Pickups. Also, if i wanted to get a slash sound, which one should i use. Also, if you guys have any good ideas which other les pauls to buy, please tell me. Thanks >>>>

gibsons tend to be better made...higher quaity wood, better switches, electronics, etc...

i hear great things about the epi elitist LPs but have not played one. my advice is to always buy gibson.

EMGs sound the same in every guitar IMO...kinda defeats the point of getting a LP.

Epi's are still fine guitars for the price, but like Fenn said, they lack more of the quality materials in the Gibson guitars. With a $1000 budget, you can still get a nice LP Studio or the popular Vintage Mahogany LP. Don't be afraid to shop around a bit and try different models out too. If you look hard enough you can score a nice used Gibson and save a few bucks as well.

Don't get a Les Paul Menace.

You'll regret it once you enter adolescence. That's not a knock at you, but they're about as cool, hardcore, and classic as Avril Lavigne is. They took everything cool about a Les Paul and made it...lame. You'll be laughed off stage.

I'm not going to get into the Epi vs. Gibson, but trust me in the long run if you buy an Epi in a couple years you'll be kicking yourself for wasting so much time waiting to upgrade to the "real deal."

A lot of people around here love their LP Studios. You should also consider a SG Standard though.

You have the economy on your side right now, as guitars are getting pretty cheap. Buy used, and to make your dollar stretch even further try eBay.