Gibson Brands Forums

Why so twangy ?

fuzz

Folks

I've been playing the ES335 for about 7 years now and every day I become a little more disturbed by the twangy sound I get out this guitar. I play it through a 60's style fender twin which of course is not known for distortion.

I play alongside another guy who plays strat plugged into a modern fender with 4-10s. He gets all kinds of throaty deep sounds out of that combination - but he uses various gain settings.

I find that unless I use a stomp box for overdrive, or maybe chorus box, I'm less and less happy with the sound I get out of my combo. It's just too clean and twangy.

I used to play the thinner strings (start with .10) but moved up to slightly wide .11 If I move up to .13 then the strings become harder to bend.

I am looking for a bluesy deep throaty wailing sound out of my Gibson. Perhaps I need to set tone on guitar differently or maybe on amp differenty? I've tried a variety of settings but usually return back to setting where I use both pickups and with tone knobs set to 10 and volumes in about middle. The Twin is so loud I rarely cross the 4 setting even when playing outdoors.

I've started shopping for other guitars. But before I leave the ES 335 I thought I'd try this forum to see if maybe there's something else I should try on this guitar. Maybe different pickups?

Or could it be that my style is just not the kind that will ever produce the desired sound?

COmments? SUggestions?

A friend of mine has a Fender Deluxe and I'm not a fan of the tone that comes out of that amp with my Byrdland. There's that Fender twang that you speak of that I easily hear.

What does your 335 sound like through your buddy's amp (with gain)?

Here's what I'd do (in order):