Gibson Brands Forums

Guitar set up -where did you learn?

psp

Hey everyone. I've been playing guitar for 25 years. I have a couple of gibson guitars - amongst others. I have a red Es 335 and a vintage burst 339! I have always trusted my local guitar tech for set up and and minor mods. However, he has now retired and moved away! Ya I know. There is some young kid in the shop now that charges and arm and a leg for his work.

Where did you learn? I've always wanted to take a course...but in the small town I live its just not available. The videos on youtube seem very "standard" and and I havn't found any specific for the two models I mentioned.

Is there a dvd series out there that focuses on the semi hollow set ups and mods? I would love to be able to tweak my own guitars...but I want to learn from someone that knows the es 335 and 339 especially well. I dont want to watch a video on someone setting up a Jem 777 or something like that hahaha!!!

Any links about measurements of string heights relating to string gauges or videos that I would be able to purchase - I would appreciate. Tools needed ...how to use the tools etc...Thanks for your time

take care

psp

Setting up the action on a 335 or 339 is really no different than on a Les Paul or SG.

I just learned by trial and error. It's very simple to do. I just set it as low as I can get it where it doesn't buzz much. On my SG that's pretty low.

I typically do this during string changes (especially when I have to remove the bridge to open the pickguard or something). I put the high and low e strings on and start adjusting from there (at tension). It's easy to set the low e perfect that way but I usually adjust the treble strings a bit finer afterwards.

Then of course the stopbar just goes as low as possible without having the strings bent over the back of the bridge.

I haven't touched the truss rod though. It's scary...