Gibson Brands Forums

I'm not as good as

Californiaman

I don't think I'll ever be as good as I would like.

I'm only getting in 2 or 3 hours a week unless some buddies are over for a jam.

I started lessons in November and that has made a difference. I've played for over 30 years but that was once a year for at least 20 of them and only steady for about the last year and a half.

If you're like me, you may not notice improvement but it seems everyone who hears me have commented on the difference. One friend was surprised that I was taking lessons. He figured I should be giving them. I know better.

My 2 cents worth.

Dave

I started playing when i was 12, no formal lessons. 24 years later I still dont feel like I'm particularly great but i have fun and have had some great experiences gigging and recording. (that was over a decade ago)

As long as your having fun, thats what counts

If you're ever as good as you want to be, you might as well stop playing. :) Right?!

Yup!

Someone, the other day, remarked to me that Jimmy Page was considered to be a very sloppy player.

I wish I was half as sloppy as him....[blink]...or should that be twice as sloppy as him...?

LOL!

P.

Yup!

Someone, the other day, remarked to me that Jimmy Page was considered to be a very sloppy player.

I wish I was half as sloppy as him....[blink]...or should that be twice as sloppy as him...?

LOL!

P.

I've heard people say this about Page too. I think it's intentional though. He was a bit of a showman, right? Guitar ultra low on the hip, hair in face, no eyes on the fretboard...etc.

There are songs though, in my opinion, on some of their albums in which he clearly sat down and played through it with focus on clean and precise playing. It's because of these moments on some of these songs that I believe he could actually be very clean if he wanted, he just often didn't care.

As for the OP, I think most of players would say they're nowhere as good as they'd like to be. I'm definitely not.