Gibson Brands Forums

339 or 137?

snugdad

I'm currently considering either a 339 or 137 and would like some advice. Here's a little of my background. I've been playing for around 45 years now and wish I still had some of my past guitars. Among a litany of guitars I had a Gibson Melody Maker in the late 60's, then a Telecaster, then later a reissue gold top Les Paul that I eventually sold to Gruhn's. At the time none of us thought things from the 60's were "vintage" and of potential value. [biggrin] That said, I've never been able to afford more than a couple of guitars at one time so a new one would represent splurging for me.

I currently have a Schecter Telecaster I bought new in 1983. It was great when playing in a cover band because it's quite versatile with splittable humbuckers in both positions. I also have an Alvarez electric/acoustic that I used when working in bands and finally a Sada Yairi acoustic (both purchased new in the 80's). I don't know if it's typical but the S. Yairi is a simply wonderful sounding and playing guitar.

So I'm thinking I may be able to convince my wife I need to buy one more guitar and would like to make it a good one. I like the 339 but am also fascinated by the 137 as an almost hollow body Les Paul. I know there are many of you with lots of guitars out there so some of you probably have both. Anyone care to take a stab at comparing the two for me? Thanks in advance.

My personal points of view....

The 339 veers towards the 335 aesthetically....being a smaller take on that classic

The 137 (derived from the earlier 135) with it's delightful Florentine cutaway, is an interesting creation

With echoes of the classic 175....and yet being toted as a 'hollow Les Paul'

So IMO there is a fascinating 'jazz' component in the 137.....

V

:-({|=