Gibson Brands Forums

J50 dating

tfm0722

hey Everyone. I am new to Gibsons but fantasize about them regularly.

I recently saw a vintage acoustic at a local store identified as a "1967 J-50"

It had the adjustable saddle, natural top, and a really thick black, "teardrop" style pickguard.

Upon googling images of 60's J-50s, I noticed most had the swirly, funky, fancy kinda pickguard, not the standard one you see on most other guitars. I was wondering...did Gibson use different pickguards for different years of the J50s and J45s? I have a feeling the "1967" dating may be inaccurate and am interested to know if you can use the style of pickguard to know the year. Thanks for any info!

BTW, the pickguard is shaped like the one in the photo, but solid black and super duper thick.

Tommy

post-41271-008327100 1330807074_thumb.jpg

The pickguard in the photo is not what I would think you would see on a '67 J-50. A 1967 should have what I guess could best be described as a thicker version of the large pickguard Gibson started using in 1955. Not sure about the J-50 but you will see them screwed down on some '67 and '68 Gibsons. I want to say that Gibson did start slapping black more teardrop shaped pickguards on their guitars towards the end of the 1960s - 1969 or so.

The ADJ bridge was available as an option in 1956 and became standard in 1961. If the guitar you are looking at has square shoulders that with the ADJ bridge and thick black pickguard would date it at no earlier than 1969.

Photos or more information like the serial number would be of help.

Okay so I found photos of the exact guitar from the dealer's website. "1967 J-50"

It's a square-shoulder with Martin-style pickguard, which places it at 1969 or later. To most people, these are not J-45/J-50's in any sense. They have more in common with the Dove, Hummingbird, and square SJ's than any J-45/J-50.