Gibson Brands Forums

Hand position questions

RudyH

I started playing in March and made some good progress learning blues guitar. Now I'm pausing to concentrate on the instrument itself, and devloping best techniques.

I'm having some difficulty mixing things like string bends with the classic left hand position where the thumbprint part of the thumb rests relatively low on the back of the neck.

What hand position have you found to be most practical for blues? for jazz?

Thanks.

I have really bad playing habits but I keep my thumb draped over the top. Sometimes it's actually an asset for muting the low E string or even fretting a note on that string but it's mostly just sloppiness born of quitting lessons too soon when I was a teen (Mel Bay Method does not equal Detroit Rock City).

No offense, I know you're just a beginner, but one of the worst ways to learn an instrument is by hand positions. I teach piano and constantly tell my students not to get used to keeping their hands in the same position all the time... if you really want to get good at the blues you need to loosen up and move your hand however you need to to fret the note you're playing. I just go with whatever's comfortable... don't worry, it will come with time and practice. Just make sure you don't tense up your shoulders!!!

SRV-Zeppelin:

That's a point well taken. I'm not so much trying to work with a fixed position, I'm responding to a problem in my technique: I've been too tense and pressed the strings too hard. This did not cause a problem with relatively slow tunes, but has become a problem with faster tunes that require using more of the fretboard.

The reason I'm looking at the problem from the point of view of hand position is that position seems to affect how much I can stretch my fingers apart, and how I can hammer the strings without muting adjacent strings or getting string buzz. At the same time I need a more relaxed technique.