Gibson Brands Forums

parents who force their kids into sports, music, ect

myspace.com/jessenoah

what do you guys think about parents who force their kids into activites like music or art or sports ect?

pros?

cons?

lets keep it civil.................

I think kids need to be pushed to a point. My father pushed me pretty hard and I did fine, but I truly believe that kids are pushed way too much these days. I see all the things that they are required to do in high school, but when they get to college something happens that usually isn't good. I'm a university professor in engineering. I know that kids are much better prepared than me when I went to school, but the main difference I see is a lack of drive in them at the college level. This is a very general statement, but I think that the trend is there for the most part. I believe there are variety of reasons for this, but one of them is probably that they get burned out before they even get to college. Too much forcing induces rebellion IMHO and since parents have control until they are 18 (well one would think they do), the kids tend to rebel at the college level instead. Too little is a problem too for obvious reasons.

I think parents shouldn't force their kids into anything (except bed on time). Encourage, suggest, provide opportunities, etc. But the kid needs to be the one who wants to do the activity. It's like fishing... you keep throwing bait until they nibble!

There is balance in parenting. Some kids need to be placed into a position to try some things others do not. However, signing them up to try something is different than having them to keep doing it once the season (for sports) is over.