Gibson Brands Forums

Detuning strings

Glorbon

Ok well this is acually a basic question, i detune and retune my guitar ALOT.. I mean maybe two times a day atleast.. So know when i have been using the same medium strings for about 2 months, they feel very "loose". And the guitar is buzzing on almost every string when capoed on the second fret or above (the buzzing gets worse the higher the capoe gets).

So i'm wondering if the strings do get looser when being detuned and then retuned?

Basic laws of physics say to give a certain pitch, a string of this diameter must have that tension, so no, when they are tuned to (say) concert pitch, the tension has to be the same as the previous time they were tuned to concert pitch. But what do physicists know.....

Basic laws of physics say to give a certain pitch' date=' a string of [i']this[/i] diameter must have that tension, so no, when they are tuned to (say) concert pitch, the tension has to be the same as the previous time they were tuned to concert pitch. But what do physicists know.....

Why do you assume that the string stays the same diameter. Don't they stretch with use and the diameter gets thinner.

Cheers,

Les

Could this be something to do with movement of the neck. If tensions are repeatedly reduced and increased, is it possible the neck profile will not return exactly to its previous position each time and thus cause the buzzing?

I was always told to allow new strings (and the neck) to settle down before considering any truss rod tweaking.

alright thanks for your answers.. Well i love my J-45 but there is really some big problem with my neck.. Ever since i bought it i have had to struggle with it..

The guitar came with medium strings so i played them til' they got old and replaced them for some light gauge strings.. No suddenly every string started to buzz..